The Australian Sports Medal was an initiative of the Federal Government in the year 2002 to commemorate the Olympic and Paralympic Games and the significant contribution of many people over the past 100 years to sport. It recognised that sport plays a vital role in moulding the framework of Australian society. Contributors at all levels of sport were eligible.


MSNSW members who have been awarded the Australian Sports Medal are:

  • Beryl Stenhouse
  • Jenny Whiteley
  • Peter Gilmour (dec)
  • Pam Hutchings
  • Brian Hird
  • Kevin Vickery
  • Peter Jackson
  • Bob Barry
  • Gary Stutsel
  • Harry Schofield
  • Joan Mcleod
  • Colin Cliff
  • Jack Mathieson
  • Martin Shanny
  • Alex Smith